Distressed at Logical Theology

I got really distressed last night as I talked with a brother from church after a wedding. He was telling me how logical he is from this test, what kind of person he is. He was saying how he, Jay and Jo are all these same type of people. “Logic and reasoning is the steam engine of our faith…” I was like, this is really weird. I asked him, “Where do you get this from?” 

“Jo”…Oh my gosh, I was like “What?!” What the heck is this. Thank you logic king Jo. I asked him when? When we had our brother group lunch 2 weeks ago. Oh my gosh. 

I think this is part of his deacon campaign and he was preaching his logic emphasized theology to the group. I am distressed by two things: 

1. Jo is preaching and influencing these young brothers with his faulty logic theology.

2. These guys, who have been coming to church for 7+ years are still very immature, shallow and can’t tell what’s right and bad. They are still babies. 

Ephesians 4:14

New Living Translation
Then we will no longer be immature like children. We won’t be tossed and blown about by every wind of new teaching. We will not be influenced when people try to trick us with lies so clever they sound like the truth.

 

Ephesians 4:14 describe them. I would put Jo into it as well. He doesn’t know what he’s talking about but he was a deacon, has a great chance of being a deacon again and is a very influential person at the church. I was angry and upset at Jo and very disappointed at this brother despite all the time he has been at church, been under care of a pretty good Christian circle at church…and he’s thinking of studying theology.

He said he’s humble and often compare himself with others, saying others are not doing well…but in truth, I think he’s a bit prideful to do that. I think it would be good for him to take some Bible class because there is just not enough good teaching at church right now.  

But the biggest problem is, he, this brother is actually one of the better one. He’s motivated to learn the Word of God. A bit prideful, but he’s still willing to be taught. He’s not solid yet but his heart is there to learn. What he needs is good teacher to guide him, a good environment. However the biggest problem is how we are nurturing, or Jo and others are nurturing people with really faulty theology and it just have to stop. They are ruining people. I am contemplating writing a letter of concern to the deacon board about him being deacon. I don’t want to but I feel responsible to. It’s going to hurt me really bad. People are going to hate me. People are going to back stab, say all kind of things behind my back, they might even yell at me but I think it just got to stop and this issue has to be faced in the forefront.  

2 thoughts on “Distressed at Logical Theology

  1. I am trying to understand your distress. Perhaps because I do not have the background, I don’t quite understand the theological issue at stake here. You complain that the church brother bases his theology on logic… Yet God is indeed a God of order (1 Cor 14:33, for example), and of logic. (Consider the use of the word “logos.”)

    I know you must have solid reasons for your distress, but I simply do not fully understand them yet.

    • Thanks for trying. Nothing wrong with logic and I agree with you totally but it was too much of it and putting logic as too important in the Christian faith to the point that the brother I spoke with was telling me how logical he is to proof his worthiness. That bothered me. The brother I was talking with also had a lot of pride in promoting himself, talking about others which distressed me. During the talk we had, he couldn’t distinguish what logic is so I was really sad. Yes, there is a lot I left unsaid in the entry so it’s hard to understand.

Leave a Reply

