Reality

Judges 8:32-35 ESV 32 And Gideon the son of Joash died in a good old age and was buried in the tomb of Joash his father, at Ophrah of the Abiezrites.33 As soon as Gideon died, the people of Israel turned again and whored after the Baals and made Baal-berith their god.34 And the people of Israel did not remember the Lord their God, who had delivered them from the hand of all their enemies on every side,35 and they did not show steadfast love to the family of Jerubbaal (that is, Gideon) in return for all the good that he had done to Israel.

Ministering can be a thankless job. Do I get comforted by reading Judges and what happened to Gideon and the Israelites after he died? Yes, a little. Just knowing that these things happen and that we are not the only ones is a little comforting.

But I often wonder if I am wasting gas, wasting bullets at a place where I can’t be “All I can be” or effective in ministry because of bad leadership and administration, unsupportive leadership, division and hatred.

I was talking with my Australian friend about the situation and he told me, “You have pretty good reason to leave the church.”

 

Leave a Reply

